Hello All - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 01-15-2018, 11:16 PM Thread Starter

View rexracer707's Photo Album My Photos
Hello All

My name is Rex and I am out of Southeastern Washington State. I am just getting into wood working with a basic setup of hand and power tools.

I found this forum while trying to figure some issues with my wood finishes.

Right now I am mainly making cutting boards, candle holders and other items around the house for my wife. I haven't had any luck with joints yet so I haven't expanded my work to other items.

Rex

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J320A using Tapatalk

Hit Hard, hit fast and hit often -Admiral Halsey-
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 01-15-2018, 11:58 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by rexracer707 View Post
My name is Rex and I am out of Southeastern Washington State. I am just getting into wood working with a basic setup of hand and power tools.

I found this forum while trying to figure some issues with my wood finishes.

Right now I am mainly making cutting boards, candle holders and other items around the house for my wife. I haven't had any luck with joints yet so I haven't expanded my work to other items.

Rex

Welcome to the club.

A lot of people have trouble with finishing. You could save yourself a lot of grief by purchasing a cheap harbor freight sprayer. I use the 97855 sprayer I get for about twenty bucks with a coupon. It will spray wood finishes fine. With a sprayer a lot of projects could be finished with lacquer. It's quick and easy and very forgiving. Something goes wrong you don't have to wait days for the finish to fully harden to fix it, it normally dries in an hour even in cool weather. A lot of other finishes can take up to a week to dry if the weather is below 50 degrees but lacquer could be used below freezing. The only draw back is lacquer can't be used when the humidity is above 70%.