Greetings from Southern Ontario - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 08-03-2020, 11:45 AM Thread Starter

View mikitz's Photo Album My Photos
Greetings from Southern Ontario

Hello, I've been doing small woodworking projects for about 20 years with hand tools and only a compound mitre saw. Also replaced a rotten deck and old fences where 1/8" tolerance is "good enough". Probably the most precise work I've done was installing oak railings and a newel post in our basement.

I'd like to finally expand my woodworking skills beyond butt joints and pocket joints... really excited about dados, half-laps, box joints, maybe dovetails down the line.

Since COVID I've acquired an older craftsman table saw and after a few hours of tweaking the fence now stays square and travels nicely!
It also came with a built-in router table with an older craftsman 1/4" router. But of course no router bits.... so haven't yet used the router.

Which brings me to my question for the forum.... any advice for my first couple of router bits? I'd rather buy a couple good ones rather than a set of crappy ones.
My first project would be a bench for the end of the bed with drawers. Any suggestions on what router bits? I was looking at spiral bits but it is scary buying a bit that costs the same as the second-hand router! Any advice is greatly appreciated, just want to make sure I'm on the right track.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 08-03-2020, 04:44 PM

View John Smith_inFL's Photo Album My Photos
welcome to the forum,
it is hard to recommend router bits without knowing what you will be
making. not just the style; but the size also.
start building a project, then half way through the build, come back here
and we can talk about edge profiles. (router bits).

this is an open forum with all levels of skills and talents.
please feel free to join in the conversations that you find interesting
and ask questions to expand your skill levels and share what you know.