Greetings from Japan - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 13 Old 11-15-2009, 06:48 AM Thread Starter
Jarhead

View Kryptoroxx's Photo Album My Photos
Smile Greetings from Japan

Hi there, I'm 27 and I'm rather new to woodworking but I have training in it. I can do drywall and general woodwork with no problems but I am interested in making furniture and things of that nature. Of course there aren't a whole lot of people that make those things in the military. I joined in 2003 and it's been a good job for me to have. I am married and while I'm here in Japan I have found that some of my hobbies I can't really do. I build computers and networks. I also do modifications to stereos and do my work on cars when I can. Since everything out in town is in Kanji it's hard to find parts. I have done a project or two down at the wood hobby shop and I found that it's quite an amazing shop. It has just about everything you could ask for in a wood shop and I would like to take advantage of it. I have looked at starting this for years and now I can sit down and do it. I will have some idiotic questions I am sure but from what I've seen on this site there's a lot of talented carpenters here. I look forward to browsing and working on some projects for the future and to save a little bit of money doing it as well.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 11-15-2009, 09:44 AM
SS user

View Gene Howe's Photo Album My Photos
Hello and welcome to this forum. Great to have you and thank you for your service.

A while ago, "Cabinetman" posted a question about a Japanese sword.
Here is a link to his post. http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f2/wh...s-about-13123/
Maybe you could help him.
I sent it to my son on Okinawa. He carries the pictures around with him, but so far hasn't found out much. Apparently, Sword Makers are not listed in the Japanese Yellow Pages.

Last edited by Gene Howe; 11-15-2009 at 09:48 AM.
post #3 of 13 Old 11-15-2009, 10:31 AM
Senior Sawdust Producer