5Likes
  • 1 Post By AltcarBob
  • 2 Post By Pineknot_86
  • 1 Post By Catpower
  • 1 Post By AltcarBob

post #1 of 6 Old 01-24-2018, 02:30 PM Thread Starter

View AltcarBob's Photo Album My Photos
Greetings from England

Hi Guys and Gals I am from Lancashire England I am 51 and semi retired but working harder than ever. I used to work as a Heavy Goods Vehicle mechanic and driver but gave up full time work to look after my disabled Mother. I work 5 mornings a week as a Taxi driver and look after Mum in the afternoons and weekends.

I have always been handy, able to fix things and build a good solid shelf that only needed 3 coats of paint to hide the joints and filler but recently I have begun to scratch the itch I always got when I saw a good wood joint. Over the years I have aquired a good set of chisels some of them handed down from my Grandfather which are over a hundred years old but can still take and keep a razors edge. I am now starting to aquire power tools and jigs to help me cut out some of the boring planing, jointing and sawing but I really enjoy the feel of a Chisel slicing through wood.

My aim over the next year is to increase my skills so that I can at least have a go at all parts of the cabinet makers trade and maybe if I live to be 150 master the trade.
Brian T. likes this.

Measure twice, Cut once, Then force it to fit with a big hammer.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 01-25-2018, 09:43 AM

View Pineknot_86's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum. Does one every master any trade? To me, it is a lifetime of learning. I had to take care of my mother for three years. Fortunately, I was retired so time was not a factor. Good to help pay back the time our mothers spent raising us.
Catpower and AltcarBob like this.

A diamond is how coal reacts under pressure.
post #3 of 6 Old 01-25-2018, 10:58 AM

View bargoon's Photo Album My Photos