First Time Cabinet Builder - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Maintenance Man

post #1 of 11 Old 02-06-2019, 11:31 AM Thread Starter

View redimension's Photo Album My Photos
First Time Cabinet Builder

Good morning!

I am just about to get started on building my first set of cabinets for my house that I am remodeling. We went to Menards and got a quote of $7400 for 10 cabinets (1 large pantry). That price didn't include the island I want to do, the countertops or installation. So, I figured, Id buy some nice tools and do it myself, save some money along the way and buy some nice lifetime tools. I have an eye for details, so I'm not too intimidated.

I used to paint for a living, so I figure finishing the cabinets will be the easy part for me. Although I've never done them from the ground up.

I'm going to pick up a 1970's Delta Cabinet Unisaw next weekend. I have already purchased the DeWalt 735 planer, an older Jet JJ6 cast iron jointer, and a Bosch GCM12SD mitre saw.

I am here to ask questions along the way. What other tools should I be looking to pick up to make my cabinet building experience easier?

Thanks everyone!
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg image1.jpeg (166.3 KB, 47 views)
File Type: jpeg image2.jpeg (83.6 KB, 41 views)
File Type: jpeg image3.jpeg (186.1 KB, 38 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 02-06-2019, 12:19 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Your biggest issue is ....

Breaking down 4 X 8 sheets of material is the biggest issue. There are several ways, a track saw, a straight edge guide with a standard circular saw, a panel saw, a very large capacity table saw with an outfeed support table.

My experience is as follows;
I bought the best track saw there was, a FestoolTS 75 and all the goodies, but never used it because I had a plan B.