Complete beginner - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 04-26-2011, 11:41 AM Thread Starter

View greenhorn's Photo Album My Photos
Complete beginner

Hi everyone. I have pretty much no woodworking or carpentry skills but I have always thought that it would be a wonderful skill to have. Today I realised that instead of just sitting on my ass it might be a smart idea to actually give it a go.

I would really value some tips from someone with more experience than me. I don't have a garage or any from for a proper dedicated work space. I have a pretty limited budget and not a whole lot of space in my home or room to store really large equipment. I do have a shared garden I could work in but I could not leave anything there overnight without it disappearing.

I have basic tools that you have in a home and a jig. What essentials would get me up and running, so I can finish a few small, simple projects and convince the girlfriend to put up with the mess I'll be making. I don't want to be the best carpenter of all time just make some usefull things, learn some skills and have fun.

Does anyone have any ideas for small simple projects that might suit me?

i thought something like this might be good and pretty cheap
http://www.instructables.com/id/Wooden-Suitcase/

I do actually need something similar to this, so this can be a goal to work up to.
http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f13/b...k-table-25751/
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 04-26-2011, 11:54 AM
Scotty D

View mdntrdr's Photo Album My Photos

Scott
OH, wait a minute ............Yep!.............That's what he said!

"Like" us on facebook
www.ScottyDsWoodworks.com
Watch Our YouTube Video
post #3 of 6 Old 04-26-2011, 11:59 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 Old 04-26-2011, 01:48 PM
No Longer Here

View rrbrown's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum.