Beginner Woodworker with Chip on Her Shoulder - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 05-28-2010, 01:20 PM Thread Starter
It's good enough!

View frogdog's Photo Album My Photos
Beginner Woodworker with Chip on Her Shoulder

Greetings everyone:

I'm Cynthia and I live in British Columbia, Canada. I'm a beginner, and I hardly know enough to ask a question. I'll try to keep my questions as intelligent as possible--I want to learn from those with more experience, i.e. everyone on the planet.

I want to learn woodworking in order to build some decent looking bookcases, and later built-ins for a new house I'm moving into this summer. If I can prove to my DH that I make 1 nice bookcase with a minimum of power tools, then he'll buy me a shop full of tools to make the job easier. I love a challenge and have had a lifetime swimming upstream.

I'm pretty handy around the house, enthusiastic, have good hand-to-eye coordination, and am smarter than a banana. I hope that's enough to learn woodworking. What do you think?

Cynthia
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 05-28-2010, 01:31 PM

View Daren's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by frogdog View Post
am smarter than a banana.
, well that is a good start...and you have a few of us beat there already...Welcome Cynthia
post #3 of 10 Old 05-28-2010, 04:30 PM

View beelzerob's Photo Album My Photos
My only advice so far, being here only a few weeks earlier than you, is to do a good search of the forums before you post any questions....not because people will berate you about it (they haven't), but just because there's a *very* good chance it was already asked and answered well, and it'll save you some time. I've been amazed at how many times I was about to post what I thought would be a very unique question...only to have the exact question show up on a search.

This place is a fantastic resource. Welcome!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement