Another Novice Dust Maker - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 12-21-2010, 10:15 AM Thread Starter
novice dust maker

View midcent' dave's Photo Album My Photos
Another Novice Dust Maker

Good morning everyone. Nice to meet you all.

I've been hanging around for a while trying to learn a few tips and tricks that might help me set up my little basement shop. I ended up finding more great information than my brain can process. There is just soooo much to take in; and some amazing works being posted.

My family and I reside in the Midwest about an hour south of St. Louis, Mo. I have been dabling in wood for a few years, but never had a proper shop or any major direction I was going. Mostly have done remodeling projects and built some furniture for ourselves. I did carve high-end custom pipes for a while and may do that again someday when time allows.

Right now I'm looking to tool up a bit more and set up my tiny workshop so that I may actually be productive. I have a few modern nursery furniture pieces that I'm going to be making and a few other projects that folks want me to make. And I realized that my makeshift cutting and assembly routine was no longer going to cut the mustard.

I can't wait to learn all I can from the forum and so many talented folks.

Now I'm off to look at some of my new tools and figure out how the heck they are all going to go in the basement shop. CYA soon.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 12-21-2010, 12:45 PM

View JohnK007's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome Dave, glad to have you with us. Once you get the shop squared away post up a few pictures of it. Large or small, it doesn't matter. Seeing how someone else manages a small space can give someone else an idea that they can adapt for their own shop. I've "borrowed" many ideas from the folks here.
post #3 of 4 Old 12-21-2010, 03:12 PM Thread Starter
novice dust maker

View midcent' dave's Photo Album My Photos
Will do.

Hi John. Thanks for the welcome.