Advice for Beginner - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By woodnthings

post #1 of 8 Old 02-04-2017, 07:40 PM Thread Starter

View Alaskabeard's Photo Album My Photos
Advice for Beginner

Hello community, my name is Jacob, currently residing in Florida

I'm an aspiring woodworker, having crafted many small things already on my own (small boxes, baskets, rocking horse etc.) I get along with creative intuition and guesswork alone and would like to learn finer points of the craft, mostly interested in finish work and custom wood projects (cabinets, tables, dressers). I'm looking into different apprenticeship positions, but I'm a little nervous to commit for one reason: I am the absolute worst at math. Obviously measurements and VERY simple math isn't too much of a problem, but I'm assuming the finer points of woodworking are pretty math heavy? Am I setting myself up to fail here?

-thanks for any advice!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 02-04-2017, 07:47 PM
Village Idiot

View epicfail48's Photo Album My Photos
Quick, what's 2+2? If you said 4, you'll be fine. Heck, half the projects I do don't even involve numbers, just building pieces to fit right with the other pieces. The most difficult thing, measurement and number wise, in woodworking is probably spacing, think things like spindles for a staircase handrail. Everything else is just addition and subtraction, mostly with simple fractions.

You'll do fine, don't sweat it. Besides, woodworkers calculators exist for a reason

I need cheaper hobby
etsy.com/shop/projectepicfail
post #3 of 8 Old 02-04-2017, 08:54 PM

View MT Stringer's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome aboard.
I have a couple of suggestions.

If you don't already have a good tape or ruler, get one that is accurate. Use it from beginning to end of the project. I have several tape measures and my old trusty Lufkin folding ruler. You would be surprised if you compare several different styles. Some aren't always accurate.