5Likes
  • 1 Post By gmercer_48083
  • 1 Post By woodumind
  • 2 Post By Mikhail2400
  • 1 Post By ChappyEight

post #1 of 9 Old 04-03-2019, 09:24 AM Thread Starter

View woodumind's Photo Album My Photos
Is sketchup right for me?

Hey all. I have read a little bit about the sketchup app on here and other places. I am very new to woodworking. My focus is going to be pretty specific within the hobby. I am basically building drawer systems of varying sizes and layouts for trucks, vans and SUVs. Would an app like this be of use to me? Or should I just get my basic design figured out and use the trusty pencil and paper to make modifications when necessary? I appreciate any input.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 04-03-2019, 09:41 AM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
How computer literate are you? If you struggle with setting up new programs then this is not for you.

George
post #3 of 9 Old 04-03-2019, 09:52 AM Thread Starter

Let me put it this way. I am extremely new to woodworking. I have built a few things here and there but I am by no means a skilled woodworker. I have an idea that I want to bring to life but my drawing skills with a pencil are bad at best. Will taking the time to learn this program and its functions aid me in becoming better at designing and completing a quality project? Now, I do understand that my project will only be as good as I build it and the woodworking side of this will take some practice and learning as well. I guess my mindset is if I can get a better design that I can visualize I will have a better chance of building what is in my minds eye.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 Old 04-03-2019, 09:56 AM Thread Starter