SketchUp Components & Groups - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 03-01-2018, 12:17 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: NE Texas
Posts: 6
View OlGriz's Photo Album My Photos
SketchUp Components & Groups

I'm on the initial, steep part of the SketchUp learning curve. Why is there a Group construct? Components can contain other lower echelon components; i.e., Components can be nested. So, why is there a Group option in SketchUp? Perhaps the correct question to ask is, "How do you decide when to use a Group vs a Component?" Oh, and why do you choose one construct over the other?

It seems to me that you folks may already addressed this point, but I unsuccessfully tried searching for it. If there has been previous discussion, please point me in its direction. Thank you in advance.
OlGriz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 05-04-2018, 03:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Casa Grande, AZ
Posts: 5,235
View Sleeper's Photo Album My Photos
I don't think it much matters because you can have a group within a group, in a group. I use components because I can name them and I can pluck them out later on. Also when you name a component and later on use the label function it automatically uses that name which you can change to what ever you want without changing the name of the component.

An example of what I just did was draw framing for a shop that I intend to build. I made all my studs a component named stud and all my plates named accordingly. Afterward I used the copy array command to fill in the studs on my wall and then grouped each wall separately so i can hide a wall to work on details with in the wall. After all the walls are done then I group all the walls. Its nice to have the walls separate from the roof rafter or trusses so in case you decide later to raise the roof you can very easily with the move command.

JohnnyB
"I do what I do well, but I still like to dabble in what I donít do well"
I just like to build with wood and a means to save money by doing it myself.
I've been building things out of wood for 40 years and I'm still just an amateur.
Sleeper is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 05-04-2018, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Casa Grande, AZ
Posts: 5,235
View Sleeper's Photo Album My Photos
Oh WOW! I just noticed that you posted this over a month ago. I just happened onto it because I was looking for help on another mater so I guess I can forget about my thread. LOL

JohnnyB
"I do what I do well, but I still like to dabble in what I donít do well"
I just like to build with wood and a means to save money by doing it myself.
I've been building things out of wood for 40 years and I'm still just an amateur.
Sleeper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 05-05-2018, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Troy Michigan USA
Posts: 800
View gmercer_48083's Photo Album My Photos
When I use sketchup, making a part I usually will make a group that I can try out to see how it fits into the rest of the plan. Once I am convinced it will probably work I make a copy and save as a component, and I place it separately from the rest of the plan. As I build and assemble, especially if it has multiple parts...I will find a problem which must be modified. If I modify a component...it will modify all the copys of that component that are already placed into my plan...I may not want this. I can use the original part that was saves as a group, copy it...then modify the copy and save it as a component...copy that component, then move the copied component into the plan.

So what I end up with basically a parts group, and component group...separate from my assembled plan. I can copy these parts to place them into my plan.

Remember that if you modify (edit) ANY Component it will modify (edit) ALL copys of that component.

Remember that if you modify (edit) ANY Group it will only modify (edit) that individual group.

Hope this helps.
gmercer_48083 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 05-05-2018, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Casa Grande, AZ
Posts: 5,235
View Sleeper's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmercer_48083 View Post
Remember that if you modify (edit) ANY Component it will modify (edit) ALL copys of that component.
Not if you make component Unique before editing.

JohnnyB
"I do what I do well, but I still like to dabble in what I donít do well"
I just like to build with wood and a means to save money by doing it myself.
I've been building things out of wood for 40 years and I'm still just an amateur.
Sleeper is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sketchup 2018 brokenknee SketchUp Help Forum 0 12-02-2017 07:04 PM
Learning Sketchup Quickstep SketchUp Help Forum 9 03-14-2017 11:44 AM
Sketchup Free version vs Sketchup Make? ORBlackFZ1 SketchUp Help Forum 9 03-31-2016 07:40 AM
Sketchup help rookiewoodworker General Woodworking Discussion 3 03-20-2016 10:52 PM
Sketchup or Autodesk Fusion 360 JimGnitecki SketchUp Help Forum 1 01-17-2016 05:25 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome