French Cleats - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 4Likes

post #1 of 22 Old 05-01-2018, 06:02 PM Thread Starter
eaglecap

View eaglecap's Photo Album My Photos
Question French Cleats

Thanks to all of you who gave me solid advice on selecting the wall surface(s) in my new shop. While I'm still waiting for the HVAC, electrician and insulation guys/girls to show up and finish, I'm contemplating covering one 14' end wall (4' concrete stem wall) and about 12' of a side wall that includes an 8' window, with Pine, knowing I will get some spreading from the inevitable shrinkage. I'm thinking about covering the gaps with 1X4 Pine, the upward edge cut at a 45 to create French Cleats. I've never used French Cleats before but I like the idea of the flexibility for installing future shelves, tool holders, clamp racks, etc.

How far off base am I?

Last edited by eaglecap; 05-01-2018 at 06:04 PM. Reason: grammar
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 05-01-2018, 06:47 PM

View TomCT2's Photo Album My Photos
that will certainly work - but give a gander at "Proslat" type systems. basically plywood sheets with horizontal slots. the downside is the accessories, which can get pricey.

for the smaller area I would go with thick tempered pegboard. old fashion perhaps - but very useful & flexible.
post #3 of 22 Old 05-01-2018, 07:35 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaglecap View Post