Need For design feedback - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 5 Old 10-18-2018, 09:01 PM Thread Starter

View Gbojabemidji's Photo Album My Photos
Need For design feedback

Ok, I am a novice at timber framing. I have an add-on project to replace an aging sunroom. I plan build a 18x20 on a slab. Ihave designed a 3-bay, 6 feet between, 20 foot clear span, 4/10 pitch roof out of red pine center cut timbers. 1x10 treated sill against concrete, 8x8 sills, 8x8x8' posts, 7x10x20' tie beams, 8x8x10' principal rafters, 8x8x8' collar ties, 3x8 braces on corners and 3x8 arched braces at collar. I would appreciate any feedback or suggestions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 10-22-2018, 11:18 PM Thread Starter

View Gbojabemidji's Photo Album My Photos
I have been working on drawings but wanted some feedback before proceeding. I do not have the option of increasing the pitch due to the restrictions of the main house form. Snow load is an issue in that we are in in northern Minnesota.
Certainly king post is an option. I can brace the trusses space allowing. A center post is possible on the freestanding end. The end towards the house can be securely attached to the existing structure. I want to avoid an internal center post. The roof structure would be birch tongue and groove, foam sheets, cdx and asphalt shingles. I do not have PE available locally for timber frame but can certainly send off the plans for review. My biggest concern now is sizing of the timbers. The trees are down and are soon off to the lumber mill. The bolts are big enough for 7x12s. Thanks for any suggestions.
post #3 of 5 Old 10-23-2018, 03:04 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Not many timberframers here

https://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f28/
You will only find 1 or 2 active timber framers here, sorry. Best to look elsewhere for more replies.

Like here:
https://www.tfguild.org/forum

https://timberframehq.com/timber-fra...tting-started/