What slows you down the most? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 28 Old 07-19-2012, 11:14 AM Thread Starter

View debelpepper's Photo Album My Photos
What slows you down the most?

I've been woodworking for about 5 years now, and I'm still very surprised by the time spent from start to finish on most of my projects. I love woodworking, but I'm finding that my weekend warrior time is not enough to finish projects in a satisfactory amount of time.

So my questions are these: Am I alone in this, or do my fellow woodworkers experience this also? It always takes longer to finish a project than expected? Also, what are some tips, tricks, jigs that you've incorporated into your work flow that you MUST have to speed things up? For instance, I pretty much use loose tenon joinery over all traditional mortise/tenons (except with through tenons, etc). As that it helps speed up the building process considerably.

Are there things/setups that generally speed up your projects?

Thanks...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 Old 07-19-2012, 11:41 AM

View scsmith42's Photo Album My Photos
What slows my project time down the most is the time that I spend on the computer.

Seriously.

The second thing is having too many projects going on at once.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to scsmith42 For This Useful Post:
autre (07-23-2012), JBSmall (08-29-2012), Shop Dad (08-20-2012)
post #3 of 28 Old 07-19-2012, 12:21 PM

View Dave Paine's Photo Album My Photos
I am likely the cause of my own slowness.

I do not want to work from plans, so I am designing as I go along. I start with an idea or a picture. With the internet, getting pictures is so much easier than decades ago.

I want to be efficient with how I use the wood. I have a mix of domestic and exotic. My most expensive board to date cost $28 per board foot. No surprise I want to be efficient with this puppy.