Pallet Question - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 03-24-2014, 03:24 AM Thread Starter

View CCrosby87's Photo Album My Photos
Pallet Question

Hello there everyone! This is my first post and I am a fairly new beginner at woodworking, but have found it to be very stress relieving and a way to really express some creativity! My first project I decided to do is a sign for my girlfriends birthday, but I have a question about the safety of using pallets. The pallet I obtained from my job (beverage distributor), is marked with the IPPC logo, HT logo, and DB logo. The wood seemed fairly good, not too many knots and really clean (no spills or marks). I just wanted to know if anyone feels it's safe for me to use this since it'll be inside the house and I've heard pallets are sometimes safe/unsafe. I would hate to give my girlfriend a gift that could be harmful in the house. Thank you for any answers or tips!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 03-24-2014, 04:37 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos

We have an introduction section where you can say a few words about yourself. If you fill out your profile in your "User Control Panel", you can list any hobbies, experience or other facts. You can also list your general geographical location which would be a help in answering some questions. In doing that your location will show under your username when you post.

The stamp HT is 'heat treated', and 'DB' is a debarking stamp. The wood is safe to use. Make sure you check it for nails, screws, and staples before machining any of it. You can machine it, sand it, stain it and finish it, and she will love what you make.

post #3 of 10 Old 03-24-2014, 07:11 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCrosby87 View Post