Must Have Jigs - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 28Likes

post #1 of 32 Old 04-04-2017, 11:51 PM Thread Starter

View clschaffer's Photo Album My Photos
Must Have Jigs

Hi All,

I'm a newbie getting my feet wet in the wonderful world of woodworking. I just ordered a Grizzly G1023RLWX (be here Thursday ). Today I purchased a Laguna 14/12 Band Saw and I've got a router which will be mounted to my Grizzly. My question is what are some jigs that are must have's that I can make? If certain jigs are better off purchased please note the jig and recommended model. If you are aware of any good sites where I can get plans for any of the jigs that would be greatly appreciated as well.

Projects of interest: boxes, picture frames, kids toys etc. Smaller crafts, nothing big as of now.

Thank You,

Chad

Last edited by clschaffer; 04-05-2017 at 12:32 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 Old 04-05-2017, 12:10 AM
Interested Observer

View subroc's Photo Album My Photos
I suppose the answer to that is what do you want to make? Or, every jig imaginable or none at all.

I expect a good place to start is a table saw cross cut sled.
clschaffer likes this.
post #3 of 32 Old 04-05-2017, 12:26 AM

View renraw9002's Photo Album My Photos
I second the table saw cross cut sled for a lot of purposes, but as subroc said. We can't really make suggestions without knowing which direction with woodworking you want to go. If you're new to it, try a few different things and see what feels "right". Some people love turning, but I haven't even tried it and I can already tell I won't have the patience for it.