How to route a long and thin beam? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 4Likes
  • 2 Post By woodnthings
  • 2 Post By woodnthings

post #1 of 15 Old 05-30-2017, 08:40 PM Thread Starter

View alfie_m's Photo Album My Photos
How to route a long and thin beam?

So I am somewhat new to woodwork. The situation is this:

I need to route a 6mm wide and 5mm deep 'slot' in the middle of timber beams that are 44mm wide and 44mm deep and 2000mm long. I have attached a sketchup model of what I need to beam to look like.

I just dont know what kind of set up I would need for this? Would it be easier to pass the beam under the router or move the router over the beam? I need to have perfetly straight lines. What kind of router would be best for this?

I'm helping a friend build a photobooth and the timber beams will form the 'skelton' of the booth, while the routed 'slots' are for the mdf 'walls' of the booth, the mdf 'walls' will slot into the routed beams if that makes sense? I know it would be easier to just screw the mdf to the beams but the photobooth will be built up and taken apart many times and we decided that consently screwing and unscrewing the mdf to the beams would mess up the wood after a long time.

Any advice would be very much appreciated!

Thanks a lot
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 05-30-2017, 10:27 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
That would be probably be easier done on a table saw with a dado blade. To do it with a router you could improvise a sub-base for your router with a edge guide on it. It could just be a piece of 1/4" plywood with a straight edge glued to it.
post #3 of 15 Old 05-31-2017, 12:32 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
If you only have a router ...

A self centering guide would be best because it can not wander from side to side: