What mill should I be looking at? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 15 Old 12-03-2011, 01:45 PM Thread Starter
Cabinet Maker

View hands made for wood's Photo Album My Photos
What mill should I be looking at?

Hello everyone!

I'm wanting to do some research on what brand and type of bandsaw mill I should be looking at, and figured this was the best place to start!
I would just be milling mainly for personal use in order to produce my own lumber for high end custom cabinetry (once I reach that state in the future.. haha) I would also be milling the odd log for people here and there.

Now, I also live in Canada.. in Saskatchewan, AKA in the pararies. Where there are not many trees.. haha Therefore.. not many mills, unlike the states.
what's the deal on if I were to buy a mill from the states to get it up here? Pretty much have to go pick it up eh?
Now what brand of saw is highly suggested? and how does the automatic feeds work?

Sorry for so many questions! I'm a noob when it comes to mills.. But REALLY wanting one. :)

Levi

Hands made for wood

"While we were yet sinners, Christ died for us."

Levi
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 12-03-2011, 07:53 PM
Sawing against the Wind

View Tennessee Tim's Photo Album My Photos
Hud-son BSM's are sold in Canada . That's what I personally use (Farmboss 36)and sale.

First order of "business" lol is :
1) know your budget... this starts and stops most deals period. This just needs to be realistic....YOU don't buy cadilacs at volkswagon prices AND IF your not willing to spend enough to get past the front wheels .....it just don't happen. I think the lowest any brand entry mill is approx. $2,500 BUT don't expect much....same with ours...IT'S ENTRY LEVEL NOT PRODUCTION!!!!
2) How large of dia log do you WANT to cut????? It doesn't matter if you have 50 -16"ers , if 24" is the big one your cutting that's the size BSM your gonna need.