What to do with these big Sycamore trees? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 02-06-2010, 08:58 PM Thread Starter

View bnew17's Photo Album My Photos
What to do with these big Sycamore trees?

Ok i am new to cutting timber etc so bear with me. I have a tract of land here in middle ga that has a head of Sycamore trees. Very big mature sycamore trees. Last year i cut one down about as big around and my thigh and cut up in logs to use for turkey calls. Ive got my eye one a few of the bigger trees now.

What are some good uses of sycamore? cutting boards? tables? flooring?

If i were to cut one of these trees down what lengths should i cut them into to make them most manageable for the majority of projects and for the sawmill.

Lastly, as you can see in one of the pictures. I cut down one of the trees last year and the inside was hollow at the base. Im guessing this is a disease. Is it because the land they are growing on is relatively wet? (its really wet in the picture because we have alot of rain this winter, alot more than usual) but it is usually fairly damp back there. In the first picture look in the background. YOu can see about half of the sycamores. They go down a good bit further too. Picture 2 and 3 are the same tree. I could not get my arms around the base of the tree and im 6"3. I had a range finder with me and i measured just about every tree right at 90-105 ft tall.

Any other information yal would like to give id love to hear it.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 02-06-2010, 09:32 PM
Forgotten but not gone

View TexasTimbers's Photo Album My Photos
bnew, welcome aboard.

Those sycs you have are just babies. You asked what to do with them . . . let them grow.

Don't quote me on this but, I believe syc is considered to be the largest growing hardwood on the north american continent. Remember the syqouyahs or however you spell it, they are softwoods.