Saw mill question? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 18 Old 05-09-2009, 11:38 AM Thread Starter
ACP

View ACP's Photo Album My Photos
Saw mill question?

Gentleman,
I am new to the majority of woodworking and have always purchased my wood from various stores already S4S, or maybe planed and jointed one side. Anyways, as my hobby expands and as I follow a lot of the threads in this section I was curious how one goes about getting a tree milled? My dad has to cut down several old trees (possibly Ash? need to research them more) and I was thinking of contacting one of the local saw mills in my area to see if they can cut them up for me. My question is, do things work that way? Or do you sell the tree to a mill and then buy back whatever they cut? This would be a completely knew process for me. I know the tree would have to be dried and I haven't asked if they have kilns or not, but there is substantial room on dad's property for air drying. I just don't want to cold call a mill and ask a bunch of stupid questions. (They might discover I am a noob and rake me over the coals). Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 05-09-2009, 11:40 AM Thread Starter
ACP

I should edit that, gentleman is a bit presumptuous. Fellow woodworkers would be more appropriate :-)
post #3 of 18 Old 05-09-2009, 12:00 PM
Senior Member Grandpa

View drcollins804's Photo Album My Photos
ACP