Noob - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 11-03-2008, 04:47 PM Thread Starter

View mics_54's Photo Album My Photos
Noob

Hello Daren and others..I have a Jonsered chaisaw mill. It works great but I would like to use the same carriage and build a bandsaw head. I'm not sure but I have a couple of decent two stroke motors or maybe use an electric motor. Most of the timber here is of the smaller diameters 16" or less. Birch, Poplar, Spruce, Cottonwood are about all thats available. I need some feedback and maybe some suppliers for bands or other supplies specific to the subject matter. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 11-03-2008, 06:46 PM

View Oscar's Photo Album My Photos
I would encourage you to contact some of the major band saw manufactures in the nation and ask them for info about how to put your operation together. I've got limited experience with all but Timber King & Norwood. They are both really great to work with and from the begining they helped me figure out what my needs were and how to best address them. They both offered a ton of options and equip choices. I went with the Timber King 1600 because I need all the assistance I can get with moving, loading and turning of logs. I started out with the "Alaska Saw Mill" and can tell you I feel they are worth teir weight in gold and I'll never let mine get away from me, as I might be in a purely subsistance mode again in my life and shelter can't be beat! Also, I've learned in a short time on this site their are some really incredible (creative) folks here, who truly have "been there and done that." and are more than willing to help out. Good Luck!!
post #3 of 6 Old 11-03-2008, 08:20 PM

View Daren's Photo Album My Photos