MONSTER Live Oak - Help, I'm a Newbie {Pics} - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 08-27-2012, 11:53 PM Thread Starter

View imamason's Photo Album My Photos
MONSTER Live Oak - Help, I'm a Newbie {Pics}

First time here, and enjoying it !! - especially this area of the Forums. I am a Mason by trade, an also started honing my woodworking skills as a hobby. I acquired this Live Oak by taking on the task of removing what was left of the tree, off of a job site. My Brother just happens to live near me, and owns a rollback vehicle carrier .He said that the load was the heaviest he'd ever felt !
After one HELLAVA Day, it now rests on my land near Austin,Texas. I want to keep a portion of it and being a " Wood Rookie" -- have many questions for the experienced Woodsman --
1.) Without investing thousands of dollars, what could i do with this ?
2.)What would you do?
3.) How old? How Heavy?
4.) Is this considered, "Big" -- Do they get,"Bigger"?
5.) Is there a market $ for it ?
6.) I'm also willing to share some of it, in exchange of needed resources. (Saw milling) -Anyone Interested?
7.) Any other input / info. would be Great !

Center is hollow for only about 10", then sharply tapers shut. There aren't any other openings evident.

Length = 126" Diameter = 49"( narrowest) to 64" (widest)

How - or - if it Died of Natural causes Is Unknown. Very little rotting is evident. Central Texas soil,Dry,Very Rocky. Zip code 78620

when the rest of the tree was cut down >> unknown, but most agree approx. 12 - 18 mos. ago.

The next day, I pinched off a quarter size chip, and spent 15 minutes putting a finish on it. You could say i was kinda excited !!
Thanks for the input. See Ya at the Saw Mill !!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	213
Size:	105.4 KB
ID:	49934  

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	209
Size:	105.4 KB
ID:	49935  

Name:	4.jpg
Views:	208
Size:	104.2 KB
ID:	49936  

Name:	5.jpg
Views:	228
Size:	69.3 KB
ID:	49937  

Attached Images