Drying wood - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 23 Old 01-03-2009, 08:11 PM Thread Starter

View drobbins's Photo Album My Photos
Drying wood

Hello All

newbie here
I had a large red oak taken down near the house the other day and sawed off about a dozen slabs 1-1/2 inches thick that I'd like to dry so I can make something yet to be determined from them. these are crosscut slabs so you can see the tree rings. anybody have a good idea how to dry them so they don't check? I was thinking of painting the end grain to slow the drying process. better ideas are welcome.

Dave
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 01-04-2009, 08:33 AM

View dirtclod's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome Dave,

If the resulting pieces are round and crosscut from the log then we usually call them cookies or disks. They are very difficuly to dry without splitting. This is because as wood dries it shrinks across the growth rings. If you measure around the outermost growth ring you'll find it's many times longer than the distance around any peticular growth ring near the center. Something has got to give as the center shrinks less than the edge. And species that shrink a lot during drying, like red oak, are even more prone to splitting. You may get lucky and find a rare tree that will somehow get through the drying with little problems. But expect nearly 100% of the pieces to have one or more large checks in them.

Here's a link that shows some examples: http://nrs.fs.fed.us/pubs/rp/rp_nc228.pdf

Sealing the end grain can slow this process and maybe keep some from splitting open. They start to dry as soon as they're cut. You'll be surprised how fast this problem will happen. It's probably allready too late. Most paints are designed to let moisture through and aren't going to form a good enough seal. Wax based sealers are much better for this demanding application. Bee's wax, parrafin and Anchorseal are the top three.