Woodworking Talk banner

Drying green pine

5K views 21 replies 13 participants last post by  Tony B 
#1 · (Edited)
I've never dried green wood before. I've never worked green wood before either, except a few scraps here and there. Usually I buy kiln dried wood.

My sister-in-law's family finally broke ground on their house a couple of weeks ago. They are using the pines (probably Eastern White Pine?) they cut down as timbers, so the logs were all milled on site. I inherited a pile of scraps, some quite sizable, all 100% green. They range in thickness from 1" to 4", and in width from 1" to 12".

They're currently stacked out of the rain, in the back of my shop. I've got them separated with sticks to air dry. The shop is not climate controlled. This is North Carolina, so temps range from low 30's in the winter, to high 90's in the summer. Humidity is always generally high.

So, how long before this wood is conceivably usable? I was thinking of making simple 3- or 4-legged stools. Turn some spindles, and put a seat on top. Wedge the ends of the spindles for joinery. Something like this: https://www.rockler.com/turn-shop-stool-turning-assembling-legs-spindles-seat

If I cut the boards into rough pieces for these stools, will they (a) dry more quickly, (b) warp and check less?

See less See more
#3 ·