blanks - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 01-11-2009, 06:02 AM Thread Starter

View tripod58's Photo Album My Photos
blanks

I am looking for soem blanks for turning duck calls. I am new to turning but this is the wood I have already. Walnut, PurpleHear, Osage, Burled Maple, Claro Walnut, Rosewood. Any suggestions would be great.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 01-11-2009, 06:38 AM

View bugman1954's Photo Album My Photos
Turning blanks

A father and son business that sells on Ebay sells turning blanks. They sell under canebranch36 and hornmountainwoods. There prices are fair and varity is excellent. We share wood. I like the lumber and they like the crotch and burl.
post #3 of 11 Old 01-11-2009, 10:28 AM

View dirtclod's Photo Album My Photos
I'm guessing you are looking for pieces 1-1/2" to 3" in diameter. Where are you located? There's probably more local exotics around you than you can shake a stick at. Take a walk in your local woods. Study even the common species. Look for unusual forms and growths. Bring along a tree id field guide so you can tell what it is you are bringing home. It's easier to spot the unusual forms in the winter but harder to id the trees. Bring along a small chainsaw and/or a good pruning saw and gather what interest you. There's a lot out there. It can be both an adventure and good learning experience.

This reminds me that Daren teased us with photos of a smoke tree he harvested some small turning blanks from. I wanted to see how the colors came out after drying. He had a blue/gray and a orange/yellow(?) Hey Daren - get it togather!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 Old 01-11-2009, 10:53 AM

View tswoodshop's Photo Album My Photos