One more blade question - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 11-12-2008, 12:13 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Handyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Amidst of 1000 acers of crawfish ponds under a 500 year old Oak grove. SW La
Posts: 1,455
View Handyman's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via AIM to Handyman
One more blade question

Ok Not really sure where to ask this question because its not a review, just a question. You did such a good job advising me on what dado set to buy, and I am going to get the freud 10" set.

Now for the question. I have 6 or 8 10" blades on hand. Why can't I stack them on the RAS to cut a dado?

Collector of Old Tools
Fixer of all things broke
Expert = Drip under pressure
Handyman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 11-12-2008, 01:36 AM
Nobody
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NOT TEXAS!
Posts: 1,237
View BHOFM's Photo Album My Photos
Getting the right width might be a problem and
the sheer weight of that many blades on a shaft
might be very dangerous??

I would not like to be there if the shaft let go!

It would take a week for the thing to stop turning.

I have an old 9" Craftsman table saw that is set up
as a dedicate dado saw and it turns for several minutes
after shutting off the switch, long enough to be bothersome.
It is a direct drive and when the switch is off it does not
make a sound even while the blade is still spinning.

Last edited by BHOFM; 11-12-2008 at 01:40 AM.
BHOFM is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 11-12-2008, 10:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Powell River British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,278
View Gerry KIERNAN's Photo Album My Photos
Hi Handyman

I don't see any real reason that you couldn't stack your saw blades, other than the possibility that BHOFM brought up. I think you would have to put spacers between the blades to keep the teeth apart.

The other thing would be to make sure that the blades are all exactly the same diameter, or you will have grooves and ridges in the bottom of your dado.

Gerry
Gerry KIERNAN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 11-12-2008, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
bradnailer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Texas
Posts: 551
View bradnailer's Photo Album My Photos
Interesting question about stacking saw blades. I've never really thought about doing that, maybe because all of my old saw blades are so dull they don't cut so very well. If you give it a try (and survive) let us know how it worked out.
bradnailer is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 11-12-2008, 01:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Nate1778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville Ky
Posts: 1,308
View Nate1778's Photo Album My Photos
I have incrued enough hospital dept to know that using a tool as it is not intended is, well frankly stupid, and dangerous. Both of my serious trips to the hospital involved using a tool in the way it was not intended. In the words of Willy Wonka "No, wait, stop, don't"......
Nate1778 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 11-12-2008, 02:27 PM
red
Papa Red
 
red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Denver NC
Posts: 1,165
View red's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerry KIERNAN View Post

The other thing would be to make sure that the blades are all exactly the same diameter, or you will have grooves and ridges in the bottom of your dado.

Gerry
Exactly what I was thinking. I would purchase the Freud 8" stack dado set and be done with it. You will love the set and they work great. Red

Red
red is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 11-12-2008, 02:37 PM
Senior Member
 
bradnailer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Texas
Posts: 551
View bradnailer's Photo Album My Photos
One other thought came to mind about stacking regular saw blades. They aren't as stiff as dado blades thus you might get some distortion which would not give you a true dimensioned dado.

+1 on the Freud 8" set. I've had that set for about 10 years and it's still going strong.
bradnailer is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 11-12-2008, 04:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5,446
View knotscott's Photo Album My Photos
That's a slippery slope unless the blades used are exactly identical. There wouldn't be much (if any) cost advantage, plus they're not really optimized to function in that way. Bottom line is that it won't work well with a hodge podge of blades and there's no advantage in buying a bunch of identical blades as opposed to a set designed to do that job.

Which Freud set are you thinking of?
knotscott is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 11-12-2008, 07:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Nate1778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville Ky
Posts: 1,308
View Nate1778's Photo Album My Photos
One last comment, it would seam to me as well that the bottom of the dado would be rough do to the fact the blade cuts a V.
Nate1778 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 11-12-2008, 10:03 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Handyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Amidst of 1000 acers of crawfish ponds under a 500 year old Oak grove. SW La
Posts: 1,455
View Handyman's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via AIM to Handyman
Quote:
Originally Posted by knotscott View Post
Which Freud set are you thinking of?

Knotscott I am going to get the Freud SD208 8". I have 2 RAS and want to set up one just for dado.

I really wanted to know what everyone thought about stacking blades. I think I got a good response, and the general thoughts or "don't do it".

Nate1778 If you saw some of the things I do with tools you would just pass out. Some would say I am Dangerous. I just think I am innovative.

Thanks all for your input.

Collector of Old Tools
Fixer of all things broke
Expert = Drip under pressure
Handyman is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 11-14-2008, 11:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Powell River British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,278
View Gerry KIERNAN's Photo Album My Photos
Well, Handyman, don't innovate yourself into the hospital. We all enjoy your input to the forum.

Gerry
Gerry KIERNAN is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 11-14-2008, 05:40 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Handyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Amidst of 1000 acers of crawfish ponds under a 500 year old Oak grove. SW La
Posts: 1,455
View Handyman's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via AIM to Handyman
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerry KIERNAN View Post
Well, Handyman, don't innovate yourself into the hospital. We all enjoy your input to the forum.

Gerry
Thanks Gerry. I will be carefull.

Collector of Old Tools
Fixer of all things broke
Expert = Drip under pressure
Handyman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
freud saw blade adienner Tool Reviews 9 04-17-2009 10:03 PM
Need a cross cut saw blade 43longtime Power Tools & Machinery 16 10-22-2008 01:22 AM
Does new Jet Proshop come with blade area123 Power Tools & Machinery 3 01-24-2008 04:00 PM
which blade AMK Joinery 5 11-08-2007 07:06 AM
9" blade d3imlay Power Tools & Machinery 2 07-17-2007 10:44 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome