Buying first Table Saw - Would like opinion - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 16 Old 01-07-2019, 11:17 AM Thread Starter

View Olorin's Photo Album My Photos
Buying first Table Saw - Would like opinion

Hi All,

I'm new to woodworking and finally have my own shop and I've started stocking it with tools to begin my woodworking journey.

At this time, I don't have the expendable budget on this new hobby to justify hundreds of dollars on a table saw, nor do I live in an area where great older saws often come up for sale. So, my options are typically the fairly cheap table top saws (Mastercraft, King, Craftsmen) are available for around $50-100.

However, I cam across this saw locally. The seller is asking $200, but I'm confident I could negotiate down to $150. The idea of a contractor saw rather than a table top one is much more appealing. But I also don't want to buy junk.

Does anyone have any experience with Craftsmen contractor style saws? From what I can tell, this unit is a Craftsmen 315 series model. I've attached a picture to show the saw.

Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 01-07-2019, 11:36 AM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
That should be a good saw for $150. It has an upgraded fence and looks like someone has added a router table mount on the left side. I have never seen any like the "feet" under the saw, but it looks like it is a moveable setup which is good.

Just ask the owner to let you plug it in and see if it is running properly. Does he have all of the manuals?

George
post #3 of 16 Old 01-07-2019, 03:12 PM Thread Starter

View Olorin's Photo Album My Photos
Thanks, George.

I'll be going to look at the saw tomorrow evening. Hoping everything works out so I can start working on projects.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 Old 01-07-2019, 05:04 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Also ask about other "accessories" .....