Woodworking Talk banner

Buying first Table Saw - Would like opinion

7K views 24 replies 16 participants last post by  DrRobert 
#1 ·
Hi All,

I'm new to woodworking and finally have my own shop and I've started stocking it with tools to begin my woodworking journey.

At this time, I don't have the expendable budget on this new hobby to justify hundreds of dollars on a table saw, nor do I live in an area where great older saws often come up for sale. So, my options are typically the fairly cheap table top saws (Mastercraft, King, Craftsmen) are available for around $50-100.

However, I cam across this saw locally. The seller is asking $200, but I'm confident I could negotiate down to $150. The idea of a contractor saw rather than a table top one is much more appealing. But I also don't want to buy junk.

Does anyone have any experience with Craftsmen contractor style saws? From what I can tell, this unit is a Craftsmen 315 series model. I've attached a picture to show the saw.

Thanks in advance.

See less See more
#2 ·
That should be a good saw for $150. It has an upgraded fence and looks like someone has added a router table mount on the left side. I have never seen any like the "feet" under the saw, but it looks like it is a moveable setup which is good.

Just ask the owner to let you plug it in and see if it is running properly. Does he have all of the manuals?

George

#4 ·
Also ask about other "accessories" .....

There may be extra blades, or dado sets IF the owner is getting out of woodworking, or if this is an estate sale. Ask why they are selling in a "curious" manner. Maybe they are upgrading and will hang onto the accessories ..... it may be worth asking about.

Looks like a good saw for the money IF it is NOT flex shaft drive. Beware of the flex shaft drive saws, since replacement drives are expensive and a conversion to belt drive is all but impossible. :|

Reactions: Tool Agnostic
#5 ·