Working With Plywood - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 12-09-2017, 05:26 PM Thread Starter

View Jordan Dior's Photo Album My Photos
Working With Plywood

I am a novice at woodworking, but have done many DIY projects like benches and small tables. I am attempting a DIY daybed frame on the cheap. I have a $100 budget for this project and want it to be extremely simple without any fancy tools other than my drill, glue, and screws. What I plan to do is use 2 sheets of 3/4" plywood glued and screwed together for the base and then stack 2x4's for the arms and then screw in Waddell legs on the bottom of the base. I have only used plywood in the past for art projects and a table top.

I am unsure of how much weight 2 sheets of plywood would hold (I plan to use 6 legs, including a two center ones for stability). I would ideally like this sofa to hold two people of average size - 250-400 lbs. total with a twin mattress (don't know how much they weigh). I have been doing some research on plywood vs. solid wood as a base and many DIY-ers think plywood is a good choice based on strength and cost.

So I have two questions: one, would two sheets of plywood hold up to 400 lbs and two, would there really be much of a difference between using PureBond ply vs. generic sanded ply. I have read reviews of PureBond ply over at Home Depot and many people say it's not worth the $50 a sheet. What if I used HD's sanded 3/4" ply that costs about $30 a sheet. Is there really a difference in strength?

Thanks for any help!:smile3:
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 12-09-2017, 05:58 PM

View RangerWood's Photo Album My Photos
I found this to be very informative.

http://homeguides.sfgate.com/plywood...ths-99591.html

RLTW!
post #3 of 11 Old 12-09-2017, 06:06 PM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos