Working With Hybrid Stabilized Wood - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 05-12-2016, 03:44 AM Thread Starter

View SheriVape's Photo Album My Photos
Working With Hybrid Stabilized Wood

First I gotta say Hello everyone :) Great forum here with loads of useful info and awesome projects..

A newbie here with very little experience in woodworking.. A little more background I'm an architect (working in building construction and infrastructure) with a few different hobbies like photography, car detailing and off-roading (mostly on sand)..

Now to my question that brought me here, how to work with Hybrid Stabilized Wood?

More details:
The project I have in mind is to make a box mod (vaping device) out of hybrid stabilized wood blank (1.6" x 2.6" x 4.2") so that will involve cutting, drilling, corner rounding, sanding, polishing, installing thread inserts and so on...

The material is specified as "stabilized dyed burl wood casted in multiple colors of resin", what I understand is that it's harder than most common types of wood but is it really very different that you can't work with it the same way and with the same tools you use for other hard types of wood?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 05-12-2016, 07:03 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Working stabilized wood is the same as working with untreated wood unless you are thinking of using wood stain. The fibers of the wood are filled through and through with a resin and seals the wood so wouldn't accept very much stain. Clear finishes wouldn't be a problem.
The Following User Says Thank You to Steve Neul For This Useful Post:
SheriVape (05-14-2016)
post #3 of 4 Old 05-12-2016, 02:14 PM
Cat Herder

View ChiknNutz's Photo Album My Photos