Workbench Recommendations - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes

post #1 of 26 Old 12-29-2015, 11:02 AM Thread Starter

View SMLWinds's Photo Album My Photos
Workbench Recommendations

So after much planning to build a workbench (and a router table, but we'll stick to the bench in this thread) I think I'm going to break down and buy one. I wanted to build one, but I am new to woodworking and feel like by the time I have the skill and knowledge to build a "dream" workbench I could probably have gotten my money out of a store bought one.

Question #1 is, if you could have any workbench available, which would you buy? I'm blessed and fortunate enough that money isn't an issue so I freely admit I love quality even if it costs big bucks. I know there will be different opinions on which one is best and why, but that is exactly what I want. Being new to woodworking I don't know what to look for, what I like, etc. So, while I may personally end up liking something else, your opinion is better than mine. I will say that I have an interest in building a very wide variety of things so versatility is key.

Question #2: If you were to build a really quality workbench, is it really going to save you much money compared to buying one? I am just curious.

In the end I LOVE to make things myself, but since I am starting from scratch it is often hard to do it. For example, it is difficult to build a really high quality router table and workbench when I don't have one to use while building them. I just fear it will be a struggle for me, I am a perfectionist so will research it to death, and may struggle to produce a "dream" quality workbench that will serve me for decades to come. However, if someone has a really good set of plans that are easy to follow and specific enough a newbie could follow them, I could be convinced to take a shot at it.