Workbench Design Feedback - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By _Ogre

post #1 of 10 Old 08-12-2020, 08:11 PM Thread Starter

View sethmc93's Photo Album My Photos
Workbench Design Feedback

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to this site and overall fairly new to woodworking. I'm designing my first decent workbench and I was hoping to get some feedback from people more experienced than myself. I've attached the Sketchup file for anyone who would like to view it that way and some screenshots as well.

The legs and cross-rails are made out of laminated 2x6's and are joined together with mortise/tenon. I know the Sketchup doesn't show that but I'm fairly new to Sketchup as well. The top is made out of laminated MDF with portions of the inside reinforced by actual lumber for the eventual addition of bench vises. The boxes on the bottom are just placeholders for leveling casters similar to these: https://www.amazon.com/SPACECARE-Swi...7276658&sr=8-5

Given the weight of the bench top I figured resting it on top of some dowels in the base should be sufficient to secure it.

Thank you for your time and any feedback is appreciated!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Annotation 2020-08-12 170229.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	99.3 KB
ID:	393753  

Name:	Annotation 2020-08-12 170245.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	84.9 KB
ID:	393755  

Attached Files
File Type: skp workbench.skp (3.66 MB, 14 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 08-13-2020, 10:09 AM

View Ranger652's Photo Album My Photos
I would add a set of additional stretchers near the bottom of the legs. This will help prevent racking when applying lateral forces. Give yourself at least 3" clearance from the floor so there is room for your feet.

Don't call me, "The Butcher"
post #3 of 10 Old 08-13-2020, 01:10 PM Thread Starter

Thank you for the feedback! I was planning on adding a shelf down there eventually but hadn't considered that I may have racking issues until I did.
Sponsored Links