Woodworking Talk banner

Workbench Design Feedback

1K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  _Ogre 
#1 ·
Hi Everyone!

I'm new to this site and overall fairly new to woodworking. I'm designing my first decent workbench and I was hoping to get some feedback from people more experienced than myself. I've attached the Sketchup file for anyone who would like to view it that way and some screenshots as well.

The legs and cross-rails are made out of laminated 2x6's and are joined together with mortise/tenon. I know the Sketchup doesn't show that but I'm fairly new to Sketchup as well. The top is made out of laminated MDF with portions of the inside reinforced by actual lumber for the eventual addition of bench vises. The boxes on the bottom are just placeholders for leveling casters similar to these: https://www.amazon.com/SPACECARE-Sw...ywords=leveling+casters&qid=1597276658&sr=8-5

Given the weight of the bench top I figured resting it on top of some dowels in the base should be sufficient to secure it.

Thank you for your time and any feedback is appreciated!

Attachments

See less See more
#4 ·
+1 on stretchers - both ways.

Basically build to H trestles and connect them with long stretchers.

With laminated 2x6's you can leave the middle board long that becomes the tenon.

In this bench I built years ago, the long stretchers are bolts with capture bolts I got from Lee Valley.

The bottom cross braces on my bench aren't absolutely necessary.

Attachments

#5 ·
+1 on stretchers - both ways.

Basically build to H trestles and connect them with long stretchers.

With laminated 2x6's you can leave the middle board long that becomes the tenon.

In this bench I built years ago, the long stretchers are bolts with capture bolts I got from Lee Valley.

The bottom cross braces on my bench aren't absolutely necessary.