Woodworms - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 3 Old 07-13-2015, 03:02 PM Thread Starter

View DeathWatch's Photo Album My Photos
Woodworms

I am in need of some advice, hopefully from someone who has survived this nightmare.

I am a hobbyist woodworker & antique refinisher. When I am not building something from scratch I like being able to take an antique that is inches away from death and fully restore & refinish it using period appropriate finishes every time. Real diamond in a rough type stuff.

About 3-4 months ago I bought an antique piece of furniture and carried it out of a barn where it had been sitting for maybe 40+ years. It needed a complete restoration. It had veneer lifting, the finish was shot, water damage along the bottom.

I took it home, put it in my garage, and spent the next 3 months stripping it, rebuilding it, and refinishing it. After I got the destroyed finish off, I found what I hoped was an INACTIVE woodworm infestation. I don't know the species. I am located in the North Eastern US but who knows what the item's history is.

To be doubly sure the infestation was old news I soaked the entire thing multiple times in Timbor. Its water soluble so I used an oil based grain filler and lacquer over it, hoping to seal in the pesticide.

I then thought the project was over, so it sat in the garage. A week or two ago I realized I should plug all the old holes to make sure the infestation was over. After all, how do you be really sure a hole was there or not if there are dozens of them and they all look alike?

Well I found a couple new holes but wasn't sure if my woodglue plugs simply fell out. Then yesterday I found a hole that was DEFINITELY new as there was a ring of chewed up wood & bug feces around it, similar to what you'd get if you drilled into a piece of wood and pulled the drill bit out leaving the pile of sawdust around the hole.