Woodworking in the spring - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 03-10-2010, 02:35 PM Thread Starter

View Nurumkin's Photo Album My Photos
Woodworking in the spring

I am fairly new to woodworking and have never really had to concern myself with temperature and humidity as I worked in a climate controlled garage in AZ up until now. What do I need to be concerned with as the weather gets nice enough in MN to start working in my barn? Can I still joint/plane and glue wood in 45 degrees and not have any trouble when I bring a piece into the warmth of the house? If not what do I need to do to start getting a jump on summer projects? The wood has been air drying for 20 years if that helps.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 03-10-2010, 11:54 PM

View Lilty's Photo Album My Photos
I think you should invest in some type of heat source, 45 degrees is a little to cool.

Lilty
post #3 of 11 Old 03-11-2010, 12:55 PM

View Ghidrah's Photo Album My Photos
Moisture in the summer, you don't say how open your barn is, but you can expect RUST on your table surfaces and the moisture content in cured stock to rise enough to possibly cause problems with later shrinkage.

I'm from NE, I work out of my basement and have a dehumidifier running most of the yr.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 Old 03-11-2010, 02:12 PM Thread Starter

re

I am planning to enclose the shop and insulate/heat it later on this summer. I suppose it wouldn't be a bad idea to do it now. I'd like to put in a concrete floor but I think I may just be putting in a footing around the edge to get a secure support base for the walls and go in and put a full floor in later when I can afford it.
post #5 of 11 Old 03-12-2010, 08:43 AM

View Gerry KIERNAN's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nurumkin View Post