Wood Rocking Chair-Broken Seat - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 03-25-2018, 09:38 PM Thread Starter

View jon147's Photo Album My Photos
Wood Rocking Chair-Broken Seat

Hello All,

New here and pretty much new to woodworking. A friend of mine broke the seat of his wife's family heirloom rocking chair. My father-in-law, who does cabinetry, self-taught, said that a biscuit joiner would be the best solution. The seat is just under 1 3/4" thick. I'm not sure about biscuits vs. doing maybe cleats on the under side spanning both breaks? Any suggestions? Lost cause?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-5285.jpg
Views:	284
Size:	232.1 KB
ID:	350914  

Name:	IMG-5286.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	159.4 KB
ID:	350922  

Name:	IMG-5287.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	186.5 KB
ID:	350930  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 03-25-2018, 10:01 PM
Bruce Jennings

View BIZNAWICH's Photo Album My Photos
jon...gluing is a given. But why don't you try dowels, they are proven stronger than biskets and then add cleats if you're nervous.

Biz

Last edited by BIZNAWICH; 03-25-2018 at 10:30 PM.
post #3 of 8 Old 03-25-2018, 10:34 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
That is a terrible break and really needs a new seat. Since that probably isn't an option you might drill it out for 1/2" x 4" dowels and glue it back together. As bad as the break is you might take it a step further and screw some metal mending plates to the underside.