Wood drilling question - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 03-17-2009, 11:42 PM Thread Starter

View Ohio Ron's Photo Album My Photos
Wood drilling question

My background is mostly instrumentation. I have dealt with many other fields and have some understanding of most. Went I went into woodworking, I found that like, most other fields, it was specialized. You have tools designed just for wood. No surprise there. However, when I saw the same metal drill press used for wood, I was surprised. I see many, many jigs that guys make to it adapt for wood working.
So my question is, "Is there wood drilling shop tool that is designed around wood working?"
If so where can I see such a tool?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 03-18-2009, 04:45 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
The basic drill press can be used for drilling both metals and wood. The major difference in application is that metals are usually drilled at a slower RPM than wood.

There are options on drill presses that can be more metal specific, like a lubricator dispenser. Some shapes and designs of drill press vises may have different looking jaws.

So to offer a general answer, a drill press with multiple pulley to pulley ratio choices, or variable speed motors, for spindle speed can be used for drilling many different materials. AFAIK, there's not a specific wood drilling machine (other than a hollow chisel mortiser), for wood. Some of the drill bits are interchangeable for wood or metals, but there are some that are specific to each.

post #3 of 11 Old 03-18-2009, 06:17 AM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabinetman View Post
The major difference in application is that metals are usually drilled at a slower RPM than wood.

I have always practised it reversed. Most times in drilling metals I want a slow speed.

George
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 Old 03-18-2009, 06:21 PM
Creative sawdust maker