Wobbly play structure deck? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 5 Old 09-19-2017, 10:14 AM Thread Starter

View ellduller's Photo Album My Photos
Wobbly play structure deck?

Hi All!

I'm a new member and this is my first post. I've been lurking around here and there for a while. I'm fairly new to building things that didn't come in a kit, but I've gotten a lot of fine advice from reading here so thank you for that! I'm a single mom and don't really have any handy folks around to ask for advice.

I have a problem I hope someone can help me solve. I'm building a play structure for my kids. I have the main platform/deck built, loosely following the play house deck plans here (although I'm going to roof the whole deck rather than build a playhouse on it): http://www.ana-white.com/2010/05/furnture-plans-playhouse-deck.html.

I built mine 5 1/2 feet tall instead of 4, using 10 foot 4x4 posts, but that's the only major change I made from the plans linked above, other than I've used 2x4 decking instead of 2x6 because it was so much cheaper even having to buy more of them. But there is a little bit of a wobble to the whole thing when I walk on it. The posts and the deck are level - believe me, it took me 3 weekends and HOURS of digging to get there. I did add the diagonal supports in all 8 corners, but this is my first time doing bevel cuts on my miter saw, and I feel like some of them aren't sitting 100% flush with the wood. Do you think cutting new corner supports would do the trick? Should I add some "knee" braces instead (or in addition to)? Is there a better idea? I've been looking online for some kind of metal hardware piece I could use because I'm not trusting my diagonal braces, but I am lost as to what I would use. I don't mind spending some money if there is a sure and easy bracket or brace I can buy.