Wierd Question! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 4Likes
  • 2 Post By John Smith_inFL
  • 2 Post By Mikhail2400

post #1 of 10 Old 10-06-2018, 01:49 AM Thread Starter

View hardwareheathens's Photo Album My Photos
Wierd Question!

Hey everyone, I am fairly new to wood working, ive had some experience, but I want to get into it more as it has always fascinated me. I am currently venturing into a project, to build a beautiful custom PC Case out of wood.
I have thought about the types of wood, I know we will be using hard wood, but I am still concerned about moisture and warping. Which led me to design custom moisture packet holders, now the main question I have is the validity to this idea, and the practicality of reinforcing parts of the case with steel bars, along the lines of using a press to drill though the sides, in the exact size of the rods, coat them in glue and force them in. Would this help in any way? Anyway, thank you!

Colin Cappetto
Owner and Operator of Hardware Heathens LLC
hardwareheathens.com
Instagram | Hardwareheathens
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 10-06-2018, 06:54 AM

View ducbsa's Photo Album My Photos
What is the moisture source?
post #3 of 10 Old 10-06-2018, 07:42 AM
Central Florida

View John Smith_inFL's Photo Album My Photos
when you say "PC" case, are you talking about a Personal Computer
on a desk or one of those giant floor models in an office setting.
do you have a drawing or sketch available ?
properly built with ventilation, there should be NO moisture at all to be concerned with.
glue does not stick to steel - so you really need to explain your building process
with either photos of something similar or drawings of what you want to do.
green, uncured wood would be the only source of moisture, IMHO.
the heat generated by a computer will alleviate any chance of moisture
problems. moreover, constant heat on some woods will cause warpage
because the wood becomes too dry too quick. so much thought has to be