Why won't my saw start? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 02-13-2016, 02:01 PM Thread Starter
The Man
 
Masterofnone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 758
View Masterofnone's Photo Album My Photos
Why won't my saw start?

I have a Jet Hybrid saw, specifically the JPS 10TS. I bought it new two years ago.


I was cutting box joints with an 8" dado set (3/8"). I shut off the saw, reset my jig, and hit the on button. The motor started to spin then stopped. So I hit the off button, hit the on button, and the saw ran just fine. Of course I thought, "that can't be good."


Well, soon thereafter, it did it again. This time however, it wouldn't stay running. After a few toggles of the switch, and now its like there is no power getting to the motor. There is a reset button on the motor but pushing it does nothing. I can't find, what I would consider to be, a fuse anywhere on or in the motor or switch. I can't find any loose connections.


I either have a dead switch or a dead motor... can anyone help?


I should probably add the motor doesn't feel hot and all of the air vents were clear and clean. I've never had any electrical issues with the saw before. I also checked the outlet... it's working properly.
Masterofnone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 02-13-2016, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,932
View Hammer1's Photo Album My Photos
Unplug the saw and open the switch box, they can get filled with sawdust. After that, see if the motor has a reset button, small red button that almost sits flush somewhere near where the wires attach to the motor. Look under the table top and make sure no debris is preventing the arbor/blades from moving. I don't know that saw but many motorized saws have a small drive belt that should be checked. Dadoes could have overheated a saw that isn't designed for that use, possible to fry the motor if you were having any hesitation or struggles making cuts.
Hammer1 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 02-13-2016, 03:38 PM Thread Starter
The Man
 
Masterofnone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 758
View Masterofnone's Photo Album My Photos
Well now that none of my garage outlets are working I'm going to assume my problem is much deeper than I originally thought
Masterofnone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 Old 02-13-2016, 03:50 PM Thread Starter
The Man
 
Masterofnone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 758
View Masterofnone's Photo Album My Photos
Oops! Stuck the test light in the wrong place... tripped my GFI.... I'm going to stop investigating now...
Masterofnone is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 02-13-2016, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Midwest
Posts: 1,885
View woodchux's Photo Album My Photos
Could it be that the saw is wired for running on a 220 line, and you are using a 110 line? Consider asking a licensed electrician to do a COMPLETE check out of your garage wiring, which may require an up date. Be safe.
woodchux is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 02-13-2016, 05:04 PM
Senior Member
 
MEP1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 233
View MEP1's Photo Album My Photos
If the motor was wired wrong it would have tripped its internal reset in one or two seconds. It can't run fine for a while on 110 wired for 220.
MEP1 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 02-13-2016, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: northern illinois
Posts: 845
View mikeswoods's Photo Album My Photos
I'm not familiar with that saw---however, it sounds like a magnetic switch failure--

Have you pulled the switch and checked to see if power is going in and out on the motor side?
mikeswoods is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 02-13-2016, 05:15 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Oregon
Posts: 10
View OzoneBeastMode's Photo Album My Photos
Have you checked the start capacitor on the motor? I only know this because I work with motors at my job and once in a blue moon on some of the small 1-5 horsepower motors on our systems the start capacitors will blow out. They are usually pretty cheap to replace, round 5 bucks.
OzoneBeastMode is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 02-13-2016, 05:54 PM Thread Starter
The Man
 
Masterofnone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 758
View Masterofnone's Photo Album My Photos
It's a 110/220. I run it off 110, for which it was wired for from the factory. I'm working on acquiring a test gauge. I'm going to start at the switch and move from there
Masterofnone is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 02-13-2016, 05:56 PM Thread Starter
The Man
 
Masterofnone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 758
View Masterofnone's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzoneBeastMode View Post
Have you checked the start capacitor on the motor? I only know this because I work with motors at my job and once in a blue moon on some of the small 1-5 horsepower motors on our systems the start capacitors will blow out. They are usually pretty cheap to replace, round 5 bucks.
I think I've located something like a capacitor. It is a black cylinder off the back of the motor. Two red wires run into it...

Let me run home and try to upload pictures
Masterofnone is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 02-13-2016, 06:24 PM
Village Idiot
 
epicfail48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Springfield MO
Posts: 4,906
View epicfail48's Photo Album My Photos
There's a quick and dirty way to see whats at fault, and you don't need anything that isn't already on the saw. Just bypass the switch and wire the power cord straight to the motor. If the motor runs, the switch is bad, if it doesn't run the motors at fault.

Please note, this is a diagnostic test, not a solution. Please don't use your saw without a switch

I need cheaper hobby
etsy.com/shop/projectepicfail
epicfail48 is online now  
post #12 of 16 Old 02-13-2016, 07:11 PM Thread Starter
The Man
 
Masterofnone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 758
View Masterofnone's Photo Album My Photos
Borrowed a tester from work. I have 120 going into the switch, and nothing coming out! Must be the switch
Masterofnone is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 02-13-2016, 07:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,043
View Masterjer's Photo Album My Photos
Glad you were able to solve it so quickly. I recently had the same issue with the same saw. I called Jet customer service and their technician told me it may be the centrifugal switch and to give the motor a few good whacks with a mallet to dislodge any dust that at have accumulated.

When that didn't work, he sent me a new start capacitor and switch. My start capacitor looked fine and after swapping it and it didn't work, Jet sent me a new motor. Works great now.

The difference with mine is that I had voltage coming out of the switch and going into the motor, but the motor acted like there was no power.
Masterjer is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 02-13-2016, 08:13 PM Thread Starter
The Man
 
Masterofnone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 758
View Masterofnone's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterjer View Post
Glad you were able to solve it so quickly. I recently had the same issue with the same saw. I called Jet customer service and their technician told me it may be the centrifugal switch and to give the motor a few good whacks with a mallet to dislodge any dust that at have accumulated.

When that didn't work, he sent me a new start capacitor and switch. My start capacitor looked fine and after swapping it and it didn't work, Jet sent me a new motor. Works great now.

The difference with mine is that I had voltage coming out of the switch and going into the motor, but the motor acted like there was no power.
Do you know how much better that makes me feel? Much! It's nice to know that you too experienced problems. I love Jet tools but I don't know many people that have them and I was worried I might have a huge bag of worms.
Masterofnone is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 02-16-2016, 01:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,043
View Masterjer's Photo Album My Photos
If you're under warranty it's worth it to give them a call. There will be a date stamped on the motor sticker showing you when it was made.
Masterjer is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 02-17-2016, 02:30 PM Thread Starter
The Man
 
Masterofnone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 758
View Masterofnone's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterjer View Post
If you're under warranty it's worth it to give them a call. There will be a date stamped on the motor sticker showing you when it was made.
The warranty is expired
Masterofnone is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delta 36-725 tripped my circuit breaker. Now the saw won't start. Any help? unknowneinstein Power Tools & Machinery 11 05-27-2020 07:11 PM
Freebie Air Compressor No Start Lute Power Tools & Machinery 10 04-28-2016 03:52 PM
Fully adjustable 'shop built' remote start / stop switch activator OnealWoodworking Tips, Tricks, & Homemade Jigs 6 01-01-2016 07:34 PM
How To Start New Topics (Threads) Cricket Getting Started With WoodworkingTalk 0 12-07-2015 12:50 PM
How do I start? Mestavillo General Woodworking Discussion 12 10-21-2015 06:05 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome