What is your favorite Wood magazine? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 15 Old 11-16-2008, 09:21 AM Thread Starter
Pro sawdust maker

View ecologito's Photo Album My Photos
What is your favorite Wood magazine?

Hi

I am new to woodworking, I subscribed to Wood magazine and had it for a year. Yesterday I went to Borders just to realize that there were about 5 different wood working magazines. I'd like to know what people prefer. I am looking for magazines about fine furniture building (plans do help a lot).

What do you guys look for in a magazine?

Build something like you mean it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 11-16-2008, 09:56 AM
HALL OF FAMER

View Kenbo's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecologito View Post
What do you guys look for in a magazine?

little to no advertising and a centerfold doesn't hurt!

seriously, however, tool reviews, readers galleries, shop tips/notes, plans, shop maintenance articles and variety of woodworking techniques (i.e. not all turning, furniture, joinery etc) are all good traits to look for.
post #3 of 15 Old 11-16-2008, 10:09 AM

View Gus Dering's Photo Album My Photos
Check out Fine Woodworking by Taunton Press. They also print Fine Homebuilding. They do a fine job. :)

They cater to the professional but thats where you will find the comprehensive detailed info needed for good skills.
Their tool reviews are excellent.
And the adds are all in the front and rear. Nothing but articles in the middle.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 15 Old 11-16-2008, 10:41 AM

View Gerry KIERNAN's Photo Album My Photos
I don't currently subscribe to any woodworking magazines, but I do like "Shopnotes". Very little in the way of advertising, and good concise articles.
There is so much information, and ideas available on line, especially through this, and other forums, that I don't have any big desire to pile up magazines any more.

Gerry
post #5 of 15 Old 11-16-2008, 10:42 AM