Woodworking Talk banner

What would you like for Christmas?

5K views 34 replies 23 participants last post by  Toms94 
#1 ·
not that i'm planning on getting you anything :smile:

i'm actually looking for ideas for me that my family can afford. although, i did list the SawStop 10" Cabinet Saw at the top of my list... :thumbsup:

since i'm fairly new to this hobby i'm still trying to acquire tools and 'stuff'. this is the list i have so far: (without the SawStop mentioned)

1) Clamps (i have a small handful, but you can never have too many clamps)
2) Pipe Clamps (i don't have any)
3) WoodCraft Gift Certificate (i'd list Rockler, but they charge for their certs)

i need router bits, but i don't know what i need yet. :) i don't have any yet.

i'm having a hard time coming up with a list of ideas that ppl not familiar with woodworking would be able to find/buy.

what else do i need? :smile:

#5 ·
A set of "good" squares the nice steel ones that come in 3-6 and 12 inches, Thickness gauge? A nice 24" steel ruler,. All those other tools are practically useless unless you start with the most important ones.

If you already have those than go for broke and ask for a portable mill...:thumbsup:

#7 ·
If you already have those than go for broke and ask for a portable mill...:thumbsup:
A little tough for Santa to get down the chimney, but a great gift idea :smile:. Every day of sawmilling for me is exactly like Christmas. The packages are all wrapped in bark, and I never really know what I am going to get for sure until I open them. Some times it is "socks"...and sometimes it is a "Rolex", metaphorically speaking.

#13 ·
Starrett makes very fine measuring tools for those who have asked. But you can buy very good quality things from Gladstone Tools for a lot less. I have both and as far as accuracy goes, there's no difference. The Starrett tools are more robust and "feel" better and will probably be used by my Great-Grandchildren. In fact, I'm using a couple from my Great-Grandad.