What wood is safe for cutting boards? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 8Likes

post #1 of 25 Old 05-18-2020, 01:12 AM Thread Starter
Moc Phat Wood

View mocphatvn's Photo Album My Photos
What wood is safe for cutting boards?

Hello! New to the forum. I am a novice woodworker and would like to start making small cutting boards. I usually buy the plastic wrapped woos at Menards..is this safe for cutting boards? Does all treated wood have a greenish tint? Sorry, I said I was a novice...I don't know much I make a beeswax and Jojoba oil finish for wood toys. Would that work to finish my cutting boards with or do most people just use the cutting board oil?. I was hoping for a natural product. Thanks so much! Oh and also, I want to use Maple and Poplar. Are these good choices? Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 05-18-2020, 02:22 AM

View faith michel's Photo Album My Photos
You can apply olive oil (organic cold press) on cutting board for to finish.. I don't know maple.. The poplar is soft wood.. It is a bad choice.. You have to use hard wood for cutting board.. For example beech wood.. If you didn't find hard wood you can use pine wood..
Good luck for your cutting board project..

SM-J700F cihazımdan Tapatalk kullanılarak gönderildi
post #3 of 25 Old 05-18-2020, 04:51 AM

View johnedp34's Photo Album My Photos
About 25 years ago, I bought a strip board and varnished it with several coats.
Use for cutting the joint and also as a pastry board.
Still fine and I used it yesterday for carving the chicken we had for lunch.
looks like pine to me.
Posh cutting boards made from blocks look nice but this board has been fine for me.
johnep
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 25 Old 05-18-2020, 07:24 AM

View Quickstep's Photo Album My Photos