What are some good wood working projects for kids with limited equipment? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 11-18-2013, 03:52 AM Thread Starter

View abelara's Photo Album My Photos
Hello, I'm doing this post for me niece and nephew both of them are 12yrs old. They like to make stuff for their dad and mom for Christmas. I want to introduce them to woodworking. this Christmas. I have some experience in wood working but not very extensive. Some equipment I have are. reciprocating saw Hand saw chisel Basic wood carving tools (wood carving as well) Wood burning ket measuring tape, t square Clamps Wood glue I also have basic home tools such as hammer, screwdriver, wrench etc Do you have some ideas they can make with adult supervision of coarse, thank you

Last edited by abelara; 11-18-2013 at 04:37 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 11-18-2013, 03:37 PM

View BernieL's Photo Album My Photos
First - I would go out and buy 2 coping saws that will cost you about $12. These will allow you to cut curves and some basic shapes, painted make nice little Christmas ornaments. Years ago I got my wife's Christmas cookie cutters and the boys cut and painted bells, trees, reindeer, and snowmen from thin wood. We still hang them on the tree and they point them out to the grandchildren.

Another option would be bird feeders or houses.

How about a carrying tote...

Its' never hot or cold in New Hampshire... its' always seasonal.
post #3 of 4 Old 11-18-2013, 04:29 PM

View bandman's Photo Album My Photos
Limited Tools