What to bring on an estimate? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 02-02-2008, 09:53 AM Thread Starter

View Ted W's Photo Album My Photos
What to bring on an estimate?

I'm new to the business end of woodworking and could use some ideas on what I should take with me when estimating projects for potential clients. Most of the work I'll be looking at is built-ins, cabinets, bathroom vanities and medicine cabinets, bars, shelving and such. So, could those of you in the business end of woodworking please give me some ideas - what sort of samples you carry with you, do you carry a gazillion brochures, hardware samples, etc? There is only so much I can lug around and obviously 50 different styles of cabinet doors is out of the question. What do you bring with you when estimating a project?

Your insight is greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 02-02-2008, 11:04 AM

View woodman51jfk's Photo Album My Photos
Tape measure, clipboard, and calculator, business cards........all obvious, but easily neglected. If the job involves laminate, the laminate sample chain, I have printed brochures showing the various types of doors, including edge and panel profiles I make. A digital camera is helpful, also.
The main problem is that some clients have to see a sample full size in person to comprehend "the look". There is NO WAY to carry everything you might be asked to look at without driving around in a loaded moving van! Take a few photos of your work, or your web address, but have finished products, with various profiles, trim, finishes, materials, etc. at your shop or showroom for people to come look at.
Sometimes you'll get lucky &the clients will have discussed what they want and actually have magazines or color brochures of "the look" they want.
I have nearly 50% of my clients ask to meet with me at Lowe's, Home Depot, or Furniture Row, to show me what they want & if I can build it for them, using real wood!