Walnut Bookcase Project - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Roybrew
  • 1 Post By GeorgeC

post #1 of 17 Old 09-03-2018, 12:34 PM Thread Starter

View Roybrew's Photo Album My Photos
Walnut Bookcase Project

This was formally know as "Got Plans. How Do I Start". Well I've started. With great advice from plenty of knowledgeable people on here, I took some advice and made a cutting list, I've never done that before, and started from there. I definitely do not have enough wood, figured this out with doing the math, more great advice received on here. The top will be 13.5 X 44, sides are 10.5 X 42. The 4 face frame pieces, and I'm going to do a decorative cove molding under the top overhang. Never made a cove molding before, so this is going to be interesting. Vaccum cleaner pipe works good for sanding cove. Got it all in my head. Not much room up there. Going to need more wood for bottom shelf and 2 more adjustable shelves, and I need to figure out what I want, oh I mean what my wife wants, for the back.
SwampRat likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 09-03-2018, 01:10 PM

View t.carpenter00's Photo Album My Photos
Cut lists are amazing. They give you opportunity to think the project out in your head, when it's quiet, before you start making things up as you work.

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk
post #3 of 17 Old 09-03-2018, 01:51 PM
Smart and Cool

View shoot summ's Photo Album My Photos
Nice job!!!

Always good to see someone take the advice and be productive with it.

One more piece of advice on your glue ups, I think I mentioned this in the other thread, look at all of the wood, and try to put pieces together that complement each other. Always look at both sides as well.

It's going to be pretty regardless, but a tight grained piece, with a fairly wild grained piece is going to create a visual "catch". Keeping them more similar makes it more pleasing to the eye(IMO) doesn't matter if one side is wild, and one isn't.