Wall mirror - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Packard

post #1 of 13 Old 01-03-2019, 10:24 AM Thread Starter

View Michael15956's Photo Album My Photos
Wall mirror

Any suggestions for attaching the mirror to the back of this frame?

Rear will be rabbited.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 01-03-2019, 10:37 AM

View John Smith_inFL's Photo Album My Photos
put a 1/4 round on top of the glass.
if you can not find a store-bought one to fit,
make your own. rubber retainers are available online.
or small nails
or small metal wedges used for picture frames
Attached Images

-- I am a painter. That's what I do. I paint things --
post #3 of 13 Old 01-03-2019, 10:41 AM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
GLAZER POINTS are typically used for this purpose.

If you really want to attach the mirror to the frame then use silicon.

George
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 Old 01-03-2019, 11:19 AM

View Tool Agnostic's Photo Album My Photos
In addition to glazer points, I have seen mirror and glass retaining clips made from plastic, metal, and rubber, or combinations of them. They come in many different shapes and configurations.

Do a web search for "mirror clips", "glass retainer clips", "glass panel clips", etc.

They typically screw into the wood, with a small protrusion to hold the glass or mirror in place. Some are nothing more than a stamped piece of thin metal with a screw hole.
post #5 of 13 Old 01-03-2019, 11:32 AM

View Packard's Photo Album My Photos
I used 1/2" thick plywood to cover the back of a standing mirror. I rabbeted the perimeter of the plywood so that it pressed the mirror in place and then I drove brass screws to the 3/4" overlap on the frame. I painted the plywood before attaching. My mirrow leaned against the wall and I wanted a sealed surface to protect the mirror.