A Vintage Workshop - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 8Likes
  • 6 Post By JohnGi
  • 2 Post By JohnGi

post #1 of 10 Old 08-16-2019, 02:52 PM Thread Starter

View JohnGi's Photo Album My Photos
A Vintage Workshop

I worked in the millwork industry for most of my career. I built my retirement workshop in 2000, the year I turned 50. It’s the last building I framed.

A Vintage Workshop-shop-tour-.jpg

My tools are older industrial machines, economically obsolete but built to last forever. Just to get started, it takes a fair amount of equipment to supply them with the power they need. From the top down, there is a 7 hp rotary phase convertor, a 5 kw 150 cycle high frequency drive, and a 5 hp air compressor. It was common for the machine room in a woodworking factory to be dual wired with the conveyors and feed motors driven on line frequency and the spindle motors driven on high frequency. Direct drive on high frequency produces high spindle speeds without the need for drive belts which cause vibration.

A Vintage Workshop-shop-tour-b.jpg

This part of the shop is for the heavy work of stock preparation. The table saw is a Beach, made in 1957. It’s not a pretty as a Tannewitz or as heavy as an Oliver; but it is a big, strong saw. The jointer is a 12” Northfield from the 1960’s. Behind it is a B&D commercial radial arm saw. Dating from the 1980’s, it’s the youngest machine in the shop.

A Vintage Workshop-shop-tour-c.jpg

The tools that need dust collection are clustered in a central island to keep the ductwork short. In front is an 18” Yates American planer. Behind that is a hand pad stroke sander. It takes up a lot of space but does a great job, especially on veneered panels.

A Vintage Workshop-shop-tour-d.jpg

At the back end of the saw aisle is this Davis & Wells 20” bandsaw. I fidgeted with it quite a bit to set it up for resawing. It’s a wonderfully simple machine with a one-piece cast-iron frame and cast-iron disc wheels.