Versatile small shop work bench - unique! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 56 Old 06-29-2012, 09:55 AM Thread Starter

View BernieL's Photo Album My Photos
Versatile small shop work bench - unique!

My work bench is a slab (old door) that I've been abusing for 12 years. I got tired of looking at the cuts, stains, gouges etc. so I decided to cover it up with bamboo flooring. I also up graded its' versatility. I've always admired those pretty fancy European benches with their expensive vises and dog holes. Who wouldn't like their holding power?

In an old FW magazine, I saw a bench with 2 T tracks and thought it was a good idea, but I couldn't dish out $300 for the fancy end vise. I thought about it for a month and came up with idea I'm very pleased with and would like to share.Name:  step1.jpg
Views: 6475
Size:  65.1 KB

Name:  covering.jpg
Views: 5941
Size:  73.9 KB

Versatile small shop work bench - unique!-actionbench.jpg

My idea has grown a bit. For instance, in a matter of seconds, I can remove the pipe clamps and insert a bar clamp to hold a board and work of the edge of the bench.

My bench has many possibilities. If you have a small shop and your power tools are limited to bench top tool that are secured on slabs of plywood that you store away and clamp on a surface when you need it, this bench could be of use to you
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	barclamp.jpg
Views:	1171
Size:	99.2 KB
ID:	46941  

Name:	hndscrew.jpg
Views:	1499
Size:	98.7 KB
ID:	46942  

Its' never hot or cold in New Hampshire... its' always seasonal.
The Following User Says Thank You to BernieL For This Useful Post:
bearman (06-21-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 56 Old 06-29-2012, 10:14 AM

View sawdustfactory's Photo Album My Photos
Great ideas there.

That bowl was perfect right up until that last cut...
post #3 of 56 Old 06-29-2012, 01:32 PM
Hunter

View Hunter's Photo Album My Photos