Woodworking Talk banner

Veneer Vacuum Question

2K views 22 replies 9 participants last post by  Tony B 
#1 ·
Hi All, first post here.

Background: I'm planning a project for a new cylindrical coffee table, that'll be roughly 40 inch diameter and roughly 36 inches tall. It'll be a hollow 2x4 frame and bendable mdf or lauan plywood wrapped around it to form the cylinder. I plan to veneer the exterior of the cylinder, ideally all at once and after the substrate is attached to the frame so I know the bend is round and fitted to the rest of the table.

I'm new to veneer, but not to woodworking generally. I'm planning to shop for a vacuum/bag setup.

1) Will something this large, in this shape be suitable for bagging in one piece?

2) Any recommendations on a decent setup that doesn't break the bank? I imagine if this works out I'll make one or two more pieces with veneer, but I don't usually have time or the space to regularly woodwork, so I'd like to keep it fairly affordable as I won't get a ton of use out of it, but I also wouldn't want to buy something inadequate for this project either.

Thanks in advance, I'm happy to have found this site!

See less See more
#2 ·
If you try this the wrong way you could have a disaster on your hands.It seems you are new to vacuum bagging and it is a great technique,with all sorts of uses.It works best on solid objects without voids within.So that in the example of your table,you would ideally need to apply a bag to the inside as well as the outside.If you just bagged the entire piece and applied a vacuum,the crushing force would be huge and may well collapse the cylinder.If you do the calculation it soon becomes apparent.A full vacuum would exert about 14 pounds/sq inch and you have a lot of square inches.If you can get a bag inside as well as outside and join them it still won't be easy but you ought to avoid the risk of catastrophe.Good luck.

#4 ·