Veneer Vacuum Question - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes

post #1 of 23 Old 01-26-2020, 12:11 PM Thread Starter

View Clearlynotstefan's Photo Album My Photos
Veneer Vacuum Question

Hi All, first post here.

Background: I'm planning a project for a new cylindrical coffee table, that'll be roughly 40 inch diameter and roughly 36 inches tall. It'll be a hollow 2x4 frame and bendable mdf or lauan plywood wrapped around it to form the cylinder. I plan to veneer the exterior of the cylinder, ideally all at once and after the substrate is attached to the frame so I know the bend is round and fitted to the rest of the table.

I'm new to veneer, but not to woodworking generally. I'm planning to shop for a vacuum/bag setup.

1) Will something this large, in this shape be suitable for bagging in one piece?

2) Any recommendations on a decent setup that doesn't break the bank? I imagine if this works out I'll make one or two more pieces with veneer, but I don't usually have time or the space to regularly woodwork, so I'd like to keep it fairly affordable as I won't get a ton of use out of it, but I also wouldn't want to buy something inadequate for this project either.

Thanks in advance, I'm happy to have found this site!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 01-26-2020, 01:32 PM

View fareastern's Photo Album My Photos