Unusual ambrosia fungus blue fir slabs are molding - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 2 Old 06-20-2016, 03:12 PM Thread Starter

View Catherina Willard's Photo Album My Photos
Question Unusual ambrosia fungus blue fir slabs are molding

First off, I'm a totally newbie. I love wood, but I'm just learning... My grandpa made everything he needed for himself and I was too young for him to teach me before he died, so I just decide I'm going to make something and then I learn as I go... I'm handy with tools, good with math, and I have a good work ethic, so I do alright. I'm in the Pacific Northwest.

I bought these slabs that are so beautiful- 2" thick fir with live edges and the sapwood is blue and purple. This is from ambrosia beetles. They cultivate a blue fungus in the sapwood to feed their larvae. It's very rare that they are in fir (they prefer pine and are the cause of "denim pine") and usually the wood they get into is degraded beyond beauty or usefulness, but these planks are lovely. I bought them with the intention of making myself a dining room table and matching bench. Two of them are about 20"-22" wide and I plan to take one edge off each of them to join them for the table. The other is about 17" (plus a little more including the edges) for the bench.

I didn't realize that they would have special issues, being green. I can air dry them (as I've learned one ought to with slabs to avoid splitting in a kiln); I have the time and patience and space. But I am anxious about the mold.

The areas where the ambrosia fungus was flourishing in the sapwood are blooming on the slabs as they sit to dry. I think (hope?) that there will be less and less of this as the wood dries. The dehumidifier seems to be helping too.